Yellowstone and beyond

So here I am, in a tent, on my MacBook using the campground wifi, blogging. I know what you’re thinking: I’m not really roughing it. In fact, Rob just made a comment about how he needs a picture of this odd scene. However, I’m taking advantages of services that we’re paying for. It’s also nice that tonight I am LITERALLY feet from the restrooms.

But the view is magnificent. I think I should post some pictures as evidence.

No, I am not kidding. I can walk outside of my tent and this is what I see.
Montana

And here is our modest, portable abode:
Montana

Last night, I was so tired, I took this picture from inside the tent, watching Rob tend the fire.
Camping in Montana

Check out more large-scale pics on my dianaguay.com site.

To those of you who complained to me via facebook or text that we’re rushing right through the states and missing out on a lot – here’s my answer to you: now that we’re camping, we’re only averaging about 4 hours of driving a day before we know we need to start looking for camp. It takes time to set up the tent, get dinner started, clean up, yadda yadda. Then the next morning, you have to take the tent down, clean up and get moving again. So for this leg of the trip, we are slowing down a bit. We’re checking out Yellowstone tomorrow. Rob hopes to go fishing, and maybe we’ll camp in Yellowstone, provided there are vacancies.

Here’s a rough estimate of what we plan to do in the next week:
After another night camping either in Yellowstone proper or not too far outside, we will make our way east: probably going to camp near Sheridan, WY, make our way towards Mount Rushmore in South Dakota and camp there. On our way out the next day, we want to check out the Badlands National Park, spend the night at or near Sioux Falls, then the following night we should be in Minneapolis, where I suspect we’ll be finding hotel accommodations.

That’s the most I can plan out for the time being, since we haven’t really figured out what we want to do in the Wisconsin/Michigan/Illinois/Indiana/Ohio region. We might hit some upstate New York, but I’m not sure yet. Suggestions for states beyond Minnesota? Please let us know. Oh, and we’re fans of breweries, OBVIOUSLY.

5 responses to “Yellowstone and beyond

  1. Pingback: Idaho to Montana : Diana Guay dot com

  2. Wow, what a gorgeous view right out your tent!!

  3. If there’s wifi, it’s not camping. At all. 😉

    As for suggestions? Chicago. ‘Nuff said. Try to find a place called the Heartland Café; it’s a massive vegetarian-friendly eatery, if memory serves me right. (I was last there in 2002.) That place had the best sweet potato fries I’ve ever eaten.

  4. Minneapolis/St. Paul has a great art museum.

  5. What incredible views. I loathe camping, but I think even I would suck it up for Yellowstone.

Leave a Reply

